It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:10 pm



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Asthma 101 Webinar April 12, 2018
PostPosted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:36 am 
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 11:50 am
Posts: 1655
Asthma Webinar Series: Introduction to Asthma Research
Reserve your Webinar seat now at
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/regist ... 3076672258
Title: Asthma Research
Date: April 12, 2018, Wednesday
Time: 10:30 am AKDT, 11:30 am PDT, 12:30 pm MDT, 1:30 pm CDT, 2:30 pm EDT
Duration: 1.5 hours
After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the Webinar.
Many tribal communities have high rates of asthma. Asthma is a unique medical condition that can benefit from both medical treatment and environmental mitigation. The “From Home to School: Tribal Indoor Air Quality Study” study was designed to determine impact of environmental mitigation /education efforts on asthma symptoms among a sample of 129 tribal children with asthma. The education focused on targeted cleaning and other asthma trigger removal activities, as well as ventilation that reduce concentrations of asthma triggers. The attention to both home and school environments embodies a more complete profile of total exposure of the children, assessed based on home and school investigations, measurements and sampling.
This webinar will focus on the foundation of the study, methodology, and usefulness of conducting structured home and school investigations, as well as educating home-owners and school personnel on environmental mitigation.
Mansel Nelson, Project Director, Indoor Air Quality in Tribal Communities (IAQTC) - Facilitator
Sohail Khan, MBBS;MPH;CIP
Director of Health Research
Cherokee Nation - Introducing the research study
- Health aspects of the study
Johna Boulafentis
Environmental Outreach Specialist
Nez Perce Tribe - Conducting the investigations in tribal homes and schools
- Examples of commonly found issues

This webinar is the second in a series of webinars about asthma. Future topics will include: results of the research study and the practical implications related to environmental mitigation / education. If you register for this webinar, you will be invited to the future webinars as well.
Questions: Contact Mansel A Nelson at mansel.nelson@nau.edu or 928 523 1275
The series is produced in partnership with University of Tulsa. Funding for IAQTC is provided by the USEPA.
man

mansel.nelson@nau.edu

Mansel A Nelson
Project Director
Tribal Environmental Education Outreach Program
Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals
Northern Arizona University
928 523 1275


Attachments:
Invitation for Asthma Research Webinar.pdf [85.28 KiB]
Downloaded 4 times
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1 post ] 


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
All times are UTC - 8 hours